top of page

Center for Children Board of Directors 

Individuals who sit on the board are responsible for overseeing the organization’s activities. The Center for Children’s Board of Directors is comprised of compassionate volunteers that represent various sectors of the community and are responsible for providing guidance, oversight and governance for the agency.  Membership is a process that requires a full Board vote. Board members meet monthly to discuss and vote on the affairs of the organization. The Board is always looking to recruit positive, effective leaders to help assist with strategic planning, setting policies and fiscal oversight. Interested in joining the board? Application

Board of Directors Login

Meet Our Board Members 

Andy Sanford.JPG

Andrea Sanford - Board President 

Andrea leads the Communications & Marketing Directorate and the Business Center for an international non-profit veterans support association. Devoted to programs that support children within our global community, Andrea developed creative materials and programs for Very Special Arts, The Center for Children, Hospice of Charles County, Southern Maryland Women's League, Kiwanis, Indian Head Center for the Arts, and numerous youth sports and academic programs.


Beth Kennedy - Treasurer

Beth Kennedy is a resident of Charles County Maryland. As a CPA and Controller of Southern Maryland Electric Company, Kennedy has used her skills to help non profits (including Center for Children) with project planning, budget management and other fiscal matters. She believes that one of the best ways to improve the community is to provide people with tools and opportunities that will help them overcome adversity and reach their fullest potential.


Madeline Wingate-Alfonso

Madeline Wingate-Alfonso is a retired administrator for Alexandria Public Schools where she served for more than  28 years. She also served on the Superintendent Advisory Committee (SAC) as a liaison for the high schools and the School District's Superintendent. Wingate has collaborated in curriculum development for educators in college access programs and has helped fund raise in many communities


Samantha Stratchko - Community Bank of the Chesapeake

Samantha  AVP, Business Development Officer for Community Bank of the Chesapeake is a long term resident of Calvert County. Stratchko is an active participant in the community and has experience volunteering for the Southern Maryland Young Marine’s as well as the Calvert County Meals on Wheels program.  

Volunteer Ambassadors

Dr. Diana Abney, Past Board President

Kimberly Rosenfield, Past Board President

Paula Sorrells

Leigh Ann Keller

Susan Hamilton

Kathy Robinson

Valerie Nyce

Patricia Christofaro

Beth Anne Lower

Doug Lent

Ellen Berkeley

Shalaunda Jefferson

Melody Allen

bottom of page